Take action.

Your MP’s and MHA’s need to hear from you.

Let’s make sure our Governments are informed and able to make the right decision regarding the allocation of our resource.


Copy & Paste The MEssage Below

If you prefer to customize your own message then please do so. Otherwise, please copy and paste the text below into your email.

Subject: Support the Year-round Offshore Shrimp Fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador

I am writing to ask for your support to maintain the current Last-In, First-Out (LIFO) quota allocation policy for the Northern Shrimp Fishery. The traditional, year-round offshore northern shrimp harvesters are vital to the economic well-being of rural communities in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Every year, our industry provides a direct payroll of over $60 million for 700 year-round, well-paying jobs in 116 coastal communities in Newfoundland and Labrador, while purchasing over $80 million in goods and services in these communities and providing millions of dollars to special quota holders, including community and Aboriginal groups.

The existing northern shrimp quota allocation policy was created in 1997 to enable transparency and predictability by (1) providing 90% of the temporary quota increases for seasonal (inshore) harvesters who had no prior access to northern shrimp, and (2) protecting the 1996 quota levels of the traditional, year-round harvesters during future decreases that were anticipated to occur in the total allowable catch (TAC). While in agreement with the fairness of this policy at the time, and after taking advantage of highly preferential quota increases that were provided until recently, seasonal shrimp fishermen are now advocating that the historic attachment and economic viability of the year-round fleet be ignored completely, by re-allocating their entire Area 6 quota to the seasonal harvesters.

We believe a government position to eliminate or change the existing quota allocation policy would be unfair and irresponsible.  Such changes would have a devastating impact on Newfoundland & Labrador businesses, well-paying year-round jobs, and the local economy, especially in Labrador. We cannot understand why government would maintain over-capacity in the seasonal fisheries sector at the expense of our year-round jobs that make a greater contribution to the economy for every tonne of shrimp quota that is caught.

Thank you for recognizing the vital importance of our industry and for supporting thousands of Newfoundlanders and Labradorians whose livelihoods and futures are dependent on the year-round offshore shrimp fishery, right here at home.

Sincerely,


Copy & Paste the Email Addresses

You may prefer to direct your message only to your own MP and/or MHA from the list below. Otherwise, please copy and paste the email addresses of all of the MPs and MHAs that are listed below.

 

Newfoundland and Labrador MP's

Prime Minister of Canada Justin Trudeau - Papineau <justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca>;
The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc - Beauséjour <dominic.leblanc@parl.gc.ca>;
The Honourable Judy Foote - Bonavista — Burin — Trinity <judy.foote@parl.gc.ca>;
Gudie Hutchings - Long Range Mountains <Gudie.Hutchings@parl.gc.ca>;
Yvonne Jones - Labrador <Yvonne.Jones@parl.gc.ca>;
Ken McDonald - Avalon <Ken.McDonald@parl.gc.ca>;
Seamus O'Regan - St. John's South — Mount Pearl <Seamus.ORegan@parl.gc.ca>;
Scott Simms - Coast of Bays — Central — Notre Dame <scott.simms@parl.gc.ca>;
Nick Whalen - St. John's East <Nick.Whalen@parl.gc.ca>;

Newfoundland and Labrador MHA's

Dwight Ball - Humber - Gros Morne <dwightball@gov.nl.ca>;
Cathy Bennett - Windsor Lake <cbennett@gov.nl.ca>;
Derek Bennett - Lewisporte - Twillingate <derekbennett@gov.nl.ca>;
Derrick Bragg - Fogo Island - Cape Freels <derrickbragg@gov.nl.ca>;
David Brazil - Conception Bay East - Bell Island <davidbrazil@gov.nl.ca>;
Mark Browne - Placentia West - Bellevue <markbrowne@gov.nl.ca>;
Gerry Byrne - Corner Brook <gerrybyrne@gov.nl.ca>;
Siobhan Coady - St. John's West <siobhancoady@gov.nl.ca>;
Steve Crocker - Carbonear - Trinity - Bay de Verde <stevecrocker@gov.nl.ca>;
Bernard Davis - Virginia Waters - Pleasantville <bernarddavis@gov.nl.ca>;
Paul Davis - Topsail - Paradise <padavis@gov.nl.ca>;
Jerry Dean - Exploits <jerrydean@gov.nl.ca>;
Lisa Dempster - Cartwright - L'Anse au Clair <lisadempster@gov.nl.ca>;
Randy Edmunds - Torngat Mountains <randyedmunds@gov.nl.ca>;
John Finn - Stephenville - Port au Port <johnfinn@gov.nl.ca>;
Sherry Gambin-Walsh - Placentia - St. Mary's <sherrygambinwalsh@gov.nl.ca>;
John Haggie - Gander <johnhaggie@gov.nl.ca>;
Carol Anne Haley - Burin - Grand Bank <carolannehaley@gov.nl.ca>;
Allan Hawkins - Grand Falls - Windsor - Buchans <allanhawkins@gov.nl.ca>;
Colin Holloway - Terra Nova <colinholloway@gov.nl.ca>;
Keith Hutchings - Ferryland <keithhutchings@gov.nl.ca>;
Eddie Joyce - Humber - Bay of Islands <ejoyce@gov.nl.ca>;
Steve Kent - Mount Pearl North <stevekent@gov.nl.ca>;
Neil King - Bonavista <neilking@gov.nl.ca>;
Dale Kirby - Mount Scio <dalekirby@gov.nl.ca>;
Paul Lane - Mount Pearl - Southlands <paullane@gov.nl.ca>;
Graham Letto - Labrador West <grahamletto@gov.nl.ca>;
Lorraine Michael - St. John's East - Quidi Vidi <lorrainemichael@gov.nl.ca>;
Christopher Mitchelmore - St. Barbe - L'Anse aux Meadows <cmitchelmore@gov.nl.ca>;
Tom Osborne - Waterford Valley <tosborne@gov.nl.ca>;
Betty Parsley - Harbour Main <bettyparsley@gov.nl.ca>;
Andrew Parsons - Burgeo - La Poile <andrewparsons@gov.nl.ca>;
Kevin Parsons - Cape St. Francis <kevinparsons@gov.nl.ca>;
Pam Parsons - Harbour Grace - Port de Grave <pamparsons@gov.nl.ca>;
Barry Petten - Conception Bay South <barrypetten@gov.nl.ca>;
Tracey Perry - Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune <traceyperry@gov.nl.ca>;
Scott Reid - St. George's - Humber <scottreid@gov.nl.ca>;
Gerry Rogers - St. John's Centre <gerryrogers@gov.nl.ca>;
Perry Trimper - Lake Melville <perrytrimper@gov.nl.ca>;
Brian Warr - Baie Verte - Green Bay <brianwarr@gov.nl.ca>;